Church Council

  Church Council  
2023 Church Council Members  
Gerald LaMott
Carol Lean
Elders John Hanson
Paul Hickey
Kevin Zook
Deacons Candace Dick
Karen Kegley
Heidi Dick
Stewards Al Drevlow
Steve Kleist
Other Elected and Appointed Positions
Before & After Care Support Team Jeff Banks
Laurel Gatz
Carol Lean
Heidi Dick
Endowment Advisory Managers
    (3 year term/1 year rotation)

Chuck Brummer
Jerry Gatz
Mark Sheffield
Recording Secretary Cheryl Avenson
Property Managers Andy Schuster
Chuck Brummer
Secretary Shirley Cave
Treasurer Gayle Hafner
Church Government
The Voters’ Assembly, which meets three times a year, is ultimately responsible for Berea's ministry direction. It approves the budget, calls church workers, and decides major issues.  It also elects the constitutional officers of the congregation - President, President-Elect, three Stewards, three Elders, and three Deacons - and the Endowment Advisory Managers.

Church Council consists of the constitutional officers and the Pastor.  Constitutional officers serve two-year terms, except that the President-Elect succeeds the President after one year.  Terms follow the calendar year.  Persons may serve up to two consecutive terms in an office.  The Church Council meets regularly to oversee the mission of the congregation as defined by the Voters’ Assembly. It appoints the Secretary, Treasurer, Financial Secretary, Property Managers, Personnel Committee, and other individuals and committees as necessary.

The Elders, Deacons, and Stewards each function as boards with responsibility for particular areas:
  • Elders - worship, teaching, membership, and called workers
  • Stewards - financial matters and personnel
  • Deacons - other programs and activities of the congregation

The congregation's ministry is carried out by the officers, the staff (under the leadership of the Pastor), and also by numerous volunteers, serving individually or on "ministry teams." Each team is supported by a designated board, officer, or staff person.

More information about our church government, as well as the roles and responsibilities of elected and appointed positions, can be found in the Constitution and By-Laws or by calling the church office.